I’m not catholic, neither atheist

I found myself –specially in America, but also in other religious places and countries– that when I’m explain that I’m not catholic, everybody turns at me with a crazy expression –almost hysterical– and end up asking me, almost like if we talk about sickness, “So… Are you an atheist?”. Kind of funny, they could ask me what I believed, because who knows? Maybe I’m from another religion party. After all, there are more than 4000 different religions in the world, with some more important than others. However, for Americans, all of these beliefs are resume in three categories: Christianity, the one of the “modern and moral people”, the Islam, the “bad one”, and the crazy and weird atheist people, that nobody understand or try to.

But, answering these people, yes, I do not believe in good, but I’m not atheist. I’m agnostic. Most of the people don’t really understand the difference between both.

Atheism is about belief, or specifically what you don’t believe. Agnosticism is about knowledge, or specifically about what you don’t know. An atheist doesn’t believe in any gods. An agnostic doesn’t know if any gods exist or not. (Resource)

Some of the questions that they ask me are weird, and I found it stupid. So, what do you think happens after we die? Well, I don’t know. I believe a lot of things, but that doesn’t make it real. Who is going to forgive your sins? Nobody, because they will be nobody to judge me… So, please, America, stop asking me why I believe what I believe. I tolerate that you have those ideas, but I don’t share them.

However, I didn’t come here to explain why I don’t believe in God. I’m here to show an evidence of the lack in the religion in America. The society look at you like if you are crazy if you are not catholic, and that’s not fair. A country proud of its freedom hide behind it beautiful slogan a hide prison of mute words. Now that we know all the possibilities in the world, I can’t understand who people chose to stay in the jail, even when they know they don’t belong there. Everybody should be able to chose who they want to be in all senses, its not anarchy, it’s justice. It is the fair way to go.

I don’t know if there is a god or not, and that doesn’t make me less moral or intelligence, or even good person, that one that believed in something or in anything more than themselves. So, please, stop trying to make things because your religion said it. I want to live in a country where I can choose with freedom without been scare of been left behind.

One day I will talk about the abort in a deep point of view, but using is as an example, I think it should be legal. People that belief in God, or have their own opinions, can choose not to abort. But people that want to should be able to do it. Because others should never have to leave under the rules of something they don’t believe. 

dfdfefe

America, there is more than this. Open your mind and look to the horizon, because is there and only there where you will find the real world were you can be yourself.

Leave a Reply

